Sparked by Words

Like a Broken Vase

I hurried, my hip glanced the table. The vase fell.

I hurried, I spoke too soon. The person to whom I spoke was hurt by my caustic words.

I am an imperfect person. I am deeply flawed.

The only staff that keeps me standing is understanding that so is everyone else.

I take no joy in discovering their flaws, but I know I can improve my conduct.

In their weeping eyes I see the reflection that is me, the disappointment, the criticism, the judgment. Their sorrow.

And the possibility that if I wake in the morning, I can try again. To repair and apologize, to expand my view and extend my palm, to lift them so I may be lifted as well.

Like the broken vase. Even knowing the cracks in the porcelain will still show, and will deflate the value of the vase, and will ever be the flaw that makes the vase vulnerable to breaking again, still I can repair it. Or try.

In the scattered shards lies a promise to fix what is broken.

So, to that person injured by the burn of my careless words, I am truly sorry.

Sometimes it’s the only thought that lets me sleep at night. That, and prayers.

 

 

Just a thought 48

 

 

The Broken Pitcher, 1891, by William-Adolphe Bouguereau, courtesy Wikimedia Commons

 

 

Comments on: "Like a Broken Vase" (33)

  1. If you were also a superhero (which you might be), you could be the main character in a thriller.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jenna Barwin said:

    Sharon, thank you for your reflections – they make me look deep into myself to examine my own flaws. We’re all a cracked vase; the cracks just run in different directions.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. a perfect post for me — I have been crabby with all this heat & smoke — fortunately today is cooler & I am too LOL

    Like

  4. Can you imagine if we were all perfect? What a boring, irritating world that would be. Cracks make the world go ’round!

    Like

  5. “…there is a crack in everything, it’s how the light gets in.” 😄 (Leonard Cohen) I’m quite flawed myself, Sharon. ❤️

    Like

  6. This was several layers deep. The cracks are needed. It is part of what makes us us.
    On another note; our words can create as much damage as knocking over that vase.
    Neither action can be taken back. Great write

    Like

  7. Hope you’re having a great summer, Shari. So nice to read your stuff again!

    Like

  8. Reading this I feel very much reminded of Kintsugi, the beautiful Japanese art of repairing broken ceramics with gold. Do you know it? The philosophy that stands behind it is even more beautiful than the repaired pieces – to honour, acknowledge and accept imperfections either in art or in humans, to not simply replace but to create something new and beautiful from the broken thing.

    Like

    • Thanks for the reminder – I do know about Kintsugi, and actually just learned about the art of creating it. I’d seen examples here and there without knowing the process or concept behind it. You’ve made a lovely addition to this post – I hope other readers will look into Kintsugi and see for themselves the Japanese way of making lemonade – really gorgeous lemonade.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. What a lovely post, full of grace, Sharon. This reminds me of Kintsugi, the Japanese art of repairing broken bowls with a special lacquer mixed with gold, usually resulting in something more beautiful than the original. The philosophy behind the art is to honor the history of a piece, and to bring out the beauty that can only arise from brokenness. I really love that thought, since we are all so flawed. Our striving, our forgiveness, and our intent matter. ❤

    Like

    • Sarah (see comments above) also mentioned Kintsugi ceramics. I’ve long admired them without knowing the way they are created and the philosophy behind the art form. There’s so much to learn from other people, not only other methods of creating art, but other ways of looking at the world and finding the beauty hidden within. Your final sentence is golden. Thank you for your comment, Diane.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Favorite line: “The only staff that keeps me standing is understanding that so is everyone else.” I’m a cracked pot too 😉

    Like

    • It took me so long to realize that everyone has suffered and even longer to know that I could heal. Thank you for your comment, Elizabeth. I’ve read your About page and taken a look at the Sanctuary Model – thank you for your references and insights.

      Like

I would love to know what you think.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.